Swamp Thing #8

It’s all been leading to this. Issue #8 promised to be a pivotal moment in the current arc, and relative new comer Scott Snyder, has delivered. There were more than a few big reveals, lots of depth and characterization, and plenty of gory action. Although I have been somewhat critical of the over reverence to Alan Moore’s legendary run on the title, it is all becoming clear now. And, what I think this issue did best, is reframe our perception of Swamp Thing.

Without getting to spoiler-y, there are so many big moments in this issue. First of all, the new look for Swamp Thing is so shockingly amazing that describing it would only serve to shame the brilliance of its beauty. No joke. I don’t think I’ve ever enjoyed the look of any comic book title as much as I enjoy Yanick Paquette current take on Swamp Thing. Seriously, if you haven’t seen it, stop reading this article NOW and check it out.

The fate of Abigail Arcane becomes apparent as well. The previous issues have served as great building blocks for what comes next. I don’t want to tell you what happens, because what’s the fun in that, but let me tell you it is gut wrenching.

Usually, I’m not a big fan of narration. For the most part, it only serves as lazy storytelling. But, I have to say, I really enjoy the inner monologue of Alec Holland. It helps the reader try to understand how it might feel to be The Swamp Thing, while secondarily serving as a way to slow the insane pace of plot.

My biggest issue with this title, which isn’t even much of a gripe, is that Scott Snyder has been overly reverent of Alan Moore’s previous run. As if Snyder may have been afraid to tamper with such a groundbreaking series. It had the air of a remake–that is, up until issue #8. Now, don’t get me wrong, Alan Moore’s Swamp Thing is one of my all time favorite comics ever. Maybe that’s why I wondered if it was a mistake to draw so many parallels. However, Scott has found a way to take the next step. He has breathed new life into a fringe character that deserves to shine.

The best part of #8 is the way it completely changed my perception on the series itself. The context has changed and the battle is set. Can Alec stop the rot? Can he save Abigail, even now? Or is it all too little too late?

About garbagegrove

I was debating on whether to write this in third person or not... does that make me a narcissist? Probably. But then again... so does the constant and repetitive use of the word "I". Anyway... My full name is Michael Joseph Zdanowicz II. I was named after my grandfather (RIP), who just so happens to be the greatest man I've ever known. He was a veteran of WWII, helped raise eight children, and never asked for a pat on the back. Thanks for the burden of living up to the name, Dad. Asshole. At the age of thirteen, I was lent a book from my friend. Up until that point, I had no real interest in literature and viewed reading as more of a chore than a hobby. But, that book happened to be Choke by Chuck Palahniuk. After that, my perverted little mind couldn't get enough. I tore through Chuck's catalog and worked my way backwards; Ellis, Thompson, Vonnegut, Burroughs, Orwell, and so on. That love for Literature evolved into a love for the stage, which then transformed into an obsession with Film. And, before all of that, there was Comic Books. Yes, I am a HUGE nerd. So, more that likely, it's going to come up... a lot. If you're not into that sort of thing, then why are you still reading this? There's probably something better you could be doing with your time, instead of trolling around my blog. Do whatever it is non-nerdy people do with their time. Workout. Get a haircut. Step out into the Sun. I don't know... But whatever you do: DON'T READ THIS BLOG!

Posted on April 4, 2012, in Comics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

