My views on DC’s ‘New 52’

Late last year, DC (A 72 year old company, mind you) decided to cancel all of their Comic Book Titles and start from scratch. This was done in an effort to attract both new readers AND old one’s that may have fallen off the wagon. A risky move. One that also seems to be panning out quite well…

When I had first heard of DC’s plans, I had mixed feelings (mostly bad ones). Batman, my all time favorite book, was nearing its 1,000th issue (713 to be exact) and DC hadn’t done a big overhaul like this since the Crisis days. I cried “gimmick” from the roof tops and swore off the change, dismissing any value to the idea, other than DC’s lust for viewership.

Keep in mind, I started reading comics in the 90’s. This was the absolute PEAK of gimmick in DCU. Ranging from Batman’s Kinghtfall to the Death of Superman, it seemed the Company had no shame. This is why I had little hope for the re-launch.

I was wrong. Very, very wrong. DC seems to have taken a hint and used the opportunity to strengthen the continuity of their titles and also enveloped a more cohesive universe in which all the titles intermingle much more seamlessly. For example: Swamp Thing and Animal Man are now part of the same storyline and are even facing the same villain.

This is not a total reboot, though. Some titles, such as Batman, have pretty much been left unchanged. While others, such as Action Comics have been completely reset.

To round up: I’m a fan. Go to your local shop and get started!

Recommended TitlesAnimal Man, Swamp Thing, Action Comics, Batman, Batman and Robin, Flash

About garbagegrove

I was debating on whether to write this in third person or not... does that make me a narcissist? Probably. But then again... so does the constant and repetitive use of the word "I". Anyway... My full name is Michael Joseph Zdanowicz II. I was named after my grandfather (RIP), who just so happens to be the greatest man I've ever known. He was a veteran of WWII, helped raise eight children, and never asked for a pat on the back. Thanks for the burden of living up to the name, Dad. Asshole. At the age of thirteen, I was lent a book from my friend. Up until that point, I had no real interest in literature and viewed reading as more of a chore than a hobby. But, that book happened to be Choke by Chuck Palahniuk. After that, my perverted little mind couldn't get enough. I tore through Chuck's catalog and worked my way backwards; Ellis, Thompson, Vonnegut, Burroughs, Orwell, and so on. That love for Literature evolved into a love for the stage, which then transformed into an obsession with Film. And, before all of that, there was Comic Books. Yes, I am a HUGE nerd. So, more that likely, it's going to come up... a lot. If you're not into that sort of thing, then why are you still reading this? There's probably something better you could be doing with your time, instead of trolling around my blog. Do whatever it is non-nerdy people do with their time. Workout. Get a haircut. Step out into the Sun. I don't know... But whatever you do: DON'T READ THIS BLOG!

Posted on March 20, 2012, in Comics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

